Welcome to the Aircraft Mechanics Forum.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Gallery Count
    Comment Count

Default Tool recommendations...

Hello!
    Ive been busting my balls getting my A&P the past two years, I graduated this spring with honors and was the first person in my class to get both tickets and actual A&P job. I got my Level I NDI in Eddy Current this summer and currently in Avionics class during the day. I just got hired on at TIMCO here in Greensboro, NC (GSO) and starting on the 22nd...and while I have a good portion of the tools on the entry level list I have a few questions about some of them. I apologize if this is in the wrong section, please move if needed.

First...what is considered to be a "explosion proof flashlight"? I have a few MagLite's I can use if they qualify....and I can get a good deal on LED camping headlamps and Streamlight's. Any recommendations here?

Ford Wrenches.....what would be the best size to start with? ATS has them in about 4 different sizes....should I get the middle size and go from there? They dont list anything specific really.

Ill be working on large Boeing's and I know there will be other things to buy....so any recommendations to start with would be much appericated!

Thanks again.....Im looking forward to getting started!

Gallery Count
    Comment Count
    OzzModz Classifieds

Flashlight wait to see what everyone else has, but stream ight I think is sealed and an awesome light, but a tank certified light, they are stupid expensive and not that great, so ask when you get there.
    Ford wrenches, the 8 and 12 inchers should work fine.

Steve
    You never have a second chance, to make a first impression

Gallery Count
    Comment Count

Angle wrenches up to at least 1 1/8"…
    Smooth jawed Knipex pliers…
    2 1/8" socket for IDG filters…
    Good breaker bar and a ratcheting adapter for breaker bar (1/2 drive)
    Will make engine work a little easier
    Couple things off the top of my head...