Welcome to the Aircraft Mechanics Forum.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Gallery Count
    Comment Count

Default Opinions for degree program paths

Hi! I'm fairly new to this side of the industry, I was enrolled at Embry-Riddle in their Aerospace Engineering program before deciding that I probably would never enjoy a heavily math based profession like that. A bunch of stuff happened and I ended up enrolled in their Aviation Maintenance program and I was told I needed to choose an area of concentration for it. I'll bore you guys with the details while providing the information I've been given if you don't want to wade through all of my stuff. First off I'm currently enrolled in the Flight option which supposedly provides me with a pilots license, but costs quite a bit more to complete. And a pilot license is something I'm fairly interested in, you can look at the link to see the different options available for it. The other two are maintenance management and safety. From my understanding after a talk with one of the guys in charge of the curriculum management sets you up in a position to either be in a management position with more ease, or give you knowledge for running your own business, neither of which really interest me. The safety option has 2 paths, occupational and aircraft safety. Occupational safety supposedly lets you get a job as a workplace safety coordinator type person or a joint maintenance/safety position. The aircraft safety leans more towards accident investigation from my understanding. I have VERY limited knowledge of the industry and what's needed, any input would be absolutely fantastic!

Gallery Count
    Comment Count

Quote Originally Posted by BlitztheDitz View Post