Welcome to the Aircraft Mechanics Forum.
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    Gallery Count
    Comment Count

Question Should I become an A&P Mechanic? Or take a different career path?

I'm a 20 year old Navy spouse who has no Aviation / Mechanical background and is still deciding whether or not I should still take that path. I started to become more interested in Aviation mechanic career path when my father-in-law mentioned that I should take up on it after he heard I was thinking about becoming a car mechanic service technician. I really do think it is interesting and I have began researching and reading the A&P Mechanics Airframe Handbook. I don t mind getting my hands dirty and all and that I have already requested more information about the program at an approved FAA college in Jacksonville, FL (I have not signed up for the school and classes! ). The only problem I have is that I don t know if I am confident enough to do all of this since I have no experience with Aviation and Mechs. I know I am in no rush and all since my husband will be in the Navy for three more years but it's just that I want to be doing something useful or out of my comfort zone in my life... I avoid courses that require you to take Eng 101 because I really can't tell the difference in English and know what's correct or not. For Math, I m fine with business math but not very good with Stats and Calculus... I was just wondering, besides my husband's words of advice (which is supporting!), if I should just stray away from Airframe & Powerplant Mechanic job? I'm still open-minded for both Auto mechanics and Aviation mechanics and that I know they're very different career paths. I have done a lot of research for auto mechanics and am interested in Honda Pact Program / T-Ten Program by Toyota since it does both education and hands-on training w/ the paid internship that's in Washington State (my hometown) but I want to stay close to the East Coast where my husband will be stationed in KingsBay, GA