Welcome to the Aircraft Mechanics Forum.
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Gallery Count
    Comment Count

Question Getting Started in Avionics

Hello! Just wanted to introduce myself and maybe get some advice on job hunting. I am just completing an Avionics Maintenance Technology certificate program in Charleston, SC. I just obtained my FCC license and GROL, and am planning to take the AET this summer. With only a couple months left, I am starting my search for a job in avionics to start gaining experience. I have some management experience (sales and retail), but I decided to change career paths. I also was a submarine sonar technician in the Navy several years back. Any advice on where to look for a foot in the door? Or places to avoid? I am open to moving out of Charleston for the right job, preferably to OKC or Texas. Iíve also seen a bunch of job postings in Savannah, GA that offer per diem if I commute, but Iím not sure what those jobs are like. I appreciate any feedback! Thanks!

Gallery Count
    Comment Count
    OzzModz Classifieds

I am not an avionics guy, but some guys here are. I guess the first question I have is a Line, swap boxes avionics guy? or one of the guys that can work on the boxes? Huge difference, also huge difference in possibilities.

If its the Avionics Line type, where you understand Avionics and such, the best possibility is a Commuter Airline who hires Non A&P Avionics guys. A super strong backround /knowledge of electrical troubleshooting. principles, and wiring methods are invaluable. Some Avionics guys are simply A&P's with a better than average knowledge of everything electrical. 80% of A&P's could not use a complex schematic and find a bad wire on a 767 to save their lives.

Steve
    You never have a second chance, to make a first impression

Gallery Count
    Comment Count